How do I set up Screen Time with iOS 12-16 on an iPhone®?

Sydney - Support Specialist
Sydney - Support Specialist
  • Updated

To use Victory Shield™, please upgrade your iPhone® to iOS 17. Then see our instructions for setting up Screen Time with iOS 17 or newer.  Or, if you simply want to use Screen Time on your older device, follow the instructions below and feel free to customize it to suit your goals.

Before You Begin


  • About Screen Time: Apple provides free device controls, called Screen Time, for iPhone® and iPad®.
     
  • App Name Change: In October 2025, we changed the name of our monitoring app from Covenant Eyes to Victory Shield™. This article will say "Covenant Eyes," but these instructions work for Victory Shield™.
     
  • iOS (iPhone® Operating System): This article highlights some Screen Time features on iOS 12-16. 

Turn on Screen Time


Follow these steps to turn on Screen Time:

  1. Open the Settings app on the iPhone® or iPad®.
    settings-2.png
  2. Tap "Screen Time.”
    Screen
  3. Tap “Turn on Screen Time.”
    Screen
  4. Tap “Turn on Screen Time.”
    Screen
  5. Tap “This is my iPhone.”
    Screen
  6. Tap “Use Screen Time Passcode.”
    Screen
  7. Enter a 4-digit passcode (the Covenant Eyes member should not know this code). Re-enter the code for verification.
    Screen
  8. In 2020, Apple released a feature for iOS 13+ called Screen Time Passcode Recovery. This feature lets you reset the Screen Time Passcode via an Apple Account.

    SUGGESTION 1: The ally can enter their Apple Account. If the ally uses their Apple Account, they can reset the Screen Time Passcode with their Apple Account if needed. Allies can create a free Apple Account on Apple’s website, even if they don’t have an Apple device.

    SUGGESTION 2: The ally can change the member’s Apple Account password before setting up the Screen Time Passcode. This way, the struggling member will be less able to “recover the passcode” and access the Screen Time settings.

    SUGGESTION 3: You can select “Cancel” and opt out of Screen Time Passcode Recovery. The ally or whoever entered the code is then responsible for remembering it. Please note that Covenant Eyes does not see or know your Screen Time Passcode, so you must contact Apple Support if it’s lost or forgotten. If you select "Cancel," tap "Skip" on the following screen.

    Screen
    Screen
  9. Whether you skipped Passcode Recovery or not, Use Screen Time Passcode should change to Change Screen Time Passcode!
    Screen

Limit Adult Content 


The Limit Adult Content setting filters inappropriate content on your iPhone®.

  1. Open the Settings app on the iPhone® or iPad®.
    settings-2.png
  2. Tap “Screen Time.”
    Screen
  3. Tap “Content & Privacy Restrictions.”
    Screen
  4. Tap "Content Restrictions."
    Screen
  5. Enter your Screen Time Passcode.
    Screen
  6. Tap “Web Content.”
    Screen
  7. Tap “Limit Adult Websites." Then tap the “< Back” option to return to the previous screen.
    Screen
  8. You’ll return to the Content Restrictions screen and be able to view the changed setting.
    Screen

Was this article helpful?