This article will cover the Screen Time settings we recommend pairing with the Victory Shield™ app on an iPhone® running iOS® 27.
Before You Begin
-
About Screen Time: Apple provides free device controls, called Screen Time, for iPhone® and iPad®.
-
iOS® (iPhone® Operating System): This article highlights the Screen Time features on iOS® 27 that work well with the Victory Shield™ app.
- New Screen Time: Apple is releasing a new Screen Time experience for some users on iOS® 27. If your iPhone® is running iOS® 27 and doesn't match the steps below, refer to this support article for instructions on setting up Screen Time.
Turn on Screen Time
To prevent the member from changing the settings we're about to set up, follow these steps to lock Screen Time:
- Open the Settings app.
- Scroll down and tap "Screen Time."
- Scroll down and tap "Manage Screen Time."
- Tap "Lock Screen Time Settings."
- Choose and enter a four-digit PIN to lock Screen Time.
- Enter the PIN again.
- Screen Time Passcode Recovery lets you reset the Screen Time Passcode via an Apple Account. Please read the following suggestions carefully and choose the one that best protects the member while proactively securing the Screen Time Passcode. For this article, we will select suggestion #3.
SUGGESTION 1: The Ally can sign in to their Apple Account. If the Ally uses their Apple Account, they can reset the Screen Time Passcode with it. Allies can create a free Apple Account with their email or phone number on Apple’s website, even if they don’t have an Apple device.
SUGGESTION 2: The Ally can change the member’s Apple Account password before setting up the Screen Time Passcode. This way, the struggling member will be less able to “recover the passcode” and access the Screen Time settings.
SUGGESTION 3: You can select “Cancel” or the "X" in the top left and opt out of Screen Time Passcode Recovery. The Ally or whoever entered the code is then responsible for remembering it. Please note that Covenant Eyes does not see or know your Screen Time Passcode, so you must contact Apple Support if you've lost or forgotten it. If you selected "Cancel" or "X," tap "Skip" on the following screen.
Check Safari®
For the best accountability experience, use Safari® as your browser so we can screen-capture your activity. Long-time members may have disabled Safari®. Follow these steps to make sure Safari® is on:
- Go to your iPhone®'s home screen and find the Safari® app. If you can't find it on your home screen, check your App Library.
- If you can open and use Safari®, you're good to go. But if Safari® is greyed out, it's disabled via Screen Time. Tap the greyed-out Safari® app.
- Tap "Enter Screen Time Passcode."
- Enter the code. Then Safari® will be unblocked.
Turn off The App Store®
To prevent the member from installing inappropriate apps or browsers via the App Store®, we recommend disabling the option to install apps.
- Open the Settings app.
- Scroll down and tap "Screen Time."
- Tap "Apps & Websites."
- Tap "Restrictions" at the top.
- Tap "Installing Apps."
- Tap "Blocked."
- Enter your four-digit PIN.
- Tap "Deleting Apps."
- Tap "Blocked."
Protect the Victory Shield™ Safari® Extension
Turn on "Limit Adult Websites" to disable Private Browsing in Safari and protect the Victory Shield Safari Extension from being turned off:
- Open the Settings app.
- Scroll down and tap "Screen Time."
- Tap "Apps & Websites."
- Tap "Restrictions" at the top.
- Scroll down and tap "Filtering."
- Tap "Limit Adult Websites."
Allow Victory Shield™ Websites
Add three Covenant Eyes websites as "allowed websites" to avoid conflicts between Screen Time and Victory Shield™:
- Open the Settings app.
- Scroll down and tap "Screen Time."
- Tap "Apps & Websites."
- Tap the "+" symbol in the bottom right-hand corner.
- Tap "Add Website."
- Type in these three websites, separating each one with a comma: covenanteyes.net, cvnt.net, covenanteyes.com. Then tap the blue checkmark.
- Tap "Allow Websites."
- You'll see the websites listed at the end of the Apps & Websites screen.
Block Social Media Websites & Apps
With this new version of Screen Time, users can now block social media apps and websites. Follow the instructions below for apps and websites you want to block:
- Open the Settings app.
- Scroll down and tap "Screen Time."
- Tap "Apps & Websites."
- Scroll down and tap the social media app you want to block. For example, we'll choose Facebook.
- Tap "Block App and Websites."
- Tap "Block App and Websites" again.
- When you try to open Facebook now, it'll say "Facebook is Blocked - This app is blocked."